Legal Blog

Thursday, October 28, 2010

Inquiry procedure to be introduced in the Dutch Caribbean

Earlier in 2010, a draft bill was proposed to amend the Corporate Code (Book 2 Civil Code) of Curacao, St. Maarten, Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba (which formerly constituted the Netherlands Antilles). The proposed legislation introduces a so-called inquiry procedure for, amongst others, limited liability companies. The inquiry procedure (a.k.a. investigation proceedings) can result in a court ordered investigation into the affairs of a corporation.

Read more Filed under: Dispute Resolution by Karel Frielink. (0) Comments


Wednesday, October 13, 2010

New tax regime in the BES Islands approved by Dutch parliament

As of 10 October 2010, Curacao is an autonomous country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Aruba and St. Maarten have the same status with their own tax legislation. The so-called BES Islands, which include Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba, are now special municipalities within the Kingdom of the Netherlands with their own beneficial tax regime.

Read more Filed under: Tax by Jeroen Starreveld. (0) Comments


Saturday, October 02, 2010

The dismantling of the Netherlands Antilles

The country, the Netherlands Antilles, consists of Bonaire, Curacao, St. Maarten, St. Eustatius and Saba, and forms part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. On 10 October 2010 the Netherlands Antilles will no longer exist. Two new countries will be born on that date: the country Curacao and the country St. Maarten. Both new countries will be part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands; however, they will each have their own government and legislature. The island of Aruba gained similar autonomy in 1986.

Read more Filed under: Uncategorized by Karel Frielink. (0) Comments